Morning Person Takes on Noc Shift

I have always been one of those “up before the sun” people. “Sleeping in” historically has been staying in bed until 8am. So… When I accepted my new position of 36 hours/week on overnights, I knew I was up against a challenge. 

The first few weeks were weird. I felt like I was in a fog constantly… The week of Christmas coincided with my last week of orientation which was very stressful and many tears were shed.

Now that I am getting into a routine.. Thought I would share with you what is helping me stay healthy/happy/sane:

  1. Water water water- Staying hydrated is important for anyone, but it is helping me decrease that facial puffiness that comes from staying up all night 4 nights a week
  2. Making sleep a priority. It’s still hard for me to choose sleep over the gym but from a holistic standpoint sleep>exercise
  3. Exercise- I am still trying to figure out how to fit workouts in my schedule but what I have been doing is sleeping for 5-6 hours after work then going to the gym then hanging around the house before my next shift
  4. Eat regular meals. I have been eating “breakfast” on my way out of work, “lunch” when I wake up, and dinner before I go to work. I have shake packets and protein bars in my bag for if/when hunger strikes while I’m on shift

So far so good with the transition. I’m not sure I’m cut out to be an overnight nurse forever but I’ll make the best of it!

Leave a Reply

